Chase Bank

JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., doing business as Chase, is a national bank that constitutes the consumer and commercial banking subsidiary of the multinational banking corporation JPMorgan Chase. The bank was known as Chase Manhattan Bank until it merged with J.P. Morgan & Co. in 2000. Chase Manhattan Bank was formed by the merger of the Chase National Bank and the Bank of the Manhattan Company in 1955. The bank is headquartered in Chicago, since its merger with Bank One Corporation in 2004. In 2008, the bank acquired the deposits and most assets of Washington Mutual.

Chase offers more than 5,100 branches and 16,100 ATMs nationwide. JPMorgan Chase has 260,965 employees (as of 2012) and operates in more than 85 countries. JPMorgan Chase currently has assets of approximately $2.509 trillion. British magazine The Banker rated Chase as world's best bank in 2009-10.

JPMorgan Chase, through its Chase subsidiary, is one of the Big Four banks of the United States.

From September 1, 1799 to 1877, it was called The Bank of The Manhattan Company (New York); from 1877 to 1954, it was called Chase National Bank; and from 1955 to 1976, it was called The Chase Manhattan Bank.

Subsidiary of JPMorgan Chase
September 1, 1799, as Bank of the Manhattan Company
Chase Tower, Chicago, Illinois
Key people
William C. Weldon, Chairman)
Financial services
99.99 billion (2012)
Net income
20.53 billion (2012)
260,965 (2012)
JPMorgan Chase
Retail Financial Services, Card Services, Commercial Banking